Society Offices Relocate to the Cowles Foundation

Monday, January 22, 2018

The Society has just completed the relocation of its office from New York University to the Cowles Foundation. We gratefully acknowledge NYU for hosting our office since 2005.
The office address will now be:
Econometric Society
Cowles Foundation
Yale University
30 Hillhouse Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511

2017 Election of Fellows

Friday, November 17, 2017

We are pleased to announce the election of 20 new Fellows of the Econometric Society.

Elchanan Ben-Porath, Hebrew University

Mark Bils, University of Rochester

Stéphane Bonhomme, University of Chicago

David Donaldson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Juan Dubra, Universidad de Montevideo

Robert C. Feenstra, University of California, Davis

Sergio Firpo, Instituto Unibanco Professor of Economics at Insper

Richard Holden, University of New South Wales

2017 Election of Officers and Council

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2017 Election of Officers and Council.

Timothy Besley, London School of Economics, has been elected President.

Stephen Morris, Princeton University, has been elected First Vice-President.

Orazio Attanasio, University College London and Institute for Fiscal Studies, has been elected Second Vice-President. He will be First Vice-President in 2019, and President in 2020.

Bernard Salanié, Columbia University, has been elected Executive Vice-President.

The following have been elected to the Council.

2017 Econometric Society European Meeting Awards

Friday, September 1, 2017

Congratulations to the winners of the ESEM Award 2017 at the 70th European Meeting of the Econometric Society.

In recognition of the two best papers in applied economics presented by young researchers.

"Dynamics in Gun Ownership and Crime - Evidence from the Aftermath of Sandy Hook"
Presented by: David Schindler, Tilburg University, joint with Christoph Koenig, Bristol University


2016 Best Paper Prizes

Thursday, May 25, 2017

The Econometric Society congratulates the 2016 winners of the "Best Paper Prize" for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics.  These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of theoretical and empirical quantitative economics and economic theory. Winners are selected by the journals' editors and co-editors.

We are pleased to announce the following papers have been awarded the 2016 "Best Paper Prize":

2020 World Congress

Monday, February 6, 2017

Call for Expressions of Interest

The next World Congress of the Econometric Society will take place in August 2020 at a location to be decided by the Executive Committee in August 2017. Expressions of interest by potential local organizers are being solicited.

The World Congress is traditionally held mid-late August for 5 days, Monday through Friday, and includes a program of invited and contributed sessions, plenary lectures and social events.

In Memoriam: Anthony B. Atkinson

Monday, January 2, 2017

The Society is sad to report the passing of Anthony Atkinson, who served as its President in 1988. 

Anthony Atkinson (1944-2017), by Richard Blundell, President of the Econometric Society in 2006 and Ian Preston, University College London. 

Sir Tony Atkinson, economist and campaigner; 1944-2017The Financial Times, January 2, 2017.