Econometric Society Welcomes a New General Manager

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

The Society welcomes Lyn Hogan as its new General Manager. It thanks her predecessor Claire Sashi for her work in ensuring the smooth functioning of our many activities and it wishes her the best in her future endeavors.

Lyn can be reached at and her office will be housed at the Cowles Foundation, Yale University.

Newly Elected Executive Vice-President of the Society

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

I am pleased to announce that Enrique Sentana (CEMFI, Madrid) was elected by the Fellows to succeed Bernard Salanié (Columbia University) as Executive Vice-President of the Society. In this capacity, he will serve as both Secretary and Treasurer of the Society.  He will take over on May 1st, 2018.

Society Offices Relocate to the Cowles Foundation

Monday, January 22, 2018

The Society has just completed the relocation of its office from New York University to the Cowles Foundation. We gratefully acknowledge NYU for hosting our office since 2005.
The office address will now be:
Econometric Society
Cowles Foundation
Yale University
30 Hillhouse Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511

2017 Election of Fellows

Friday, November 17, 2017

We are pleased to announce the election of 20 new Fellows of the Econometric Society.

Elchanan Ben-Porath, Hebrew University

Mark Bils, University of Rochester

Stéphane Bonhomme, University of Chicago

David Donaldson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Juan Dubra, Universidad de Montevideo

Robert C. Feenstra, University of California, Davis

Sergio Firpo, Instituto Unibanco Professor of Economics at Insper

Richard Holden, University of New South Wales

2017 Election of Officers and Council

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2017 Election of Officers and Council.

Timothy Besley, London School of Economics, has been elected President.

Stephen Morris, Princeton University, has been elected First Vice-President.

Orazio Attanasio, University College London and Institute for Fiscal Studies, has been elected Second Vice-President. He will be First Vice-President in 2019, and President in 2020.

Bernard Salanié, Columbia University, has been elected Executive Vice-President.

The following have been elected to the Council.

2017 Econometric Society European Meeting Awards

Friday, September 1, 2017

Congratulations to the winners of the ESEM Award 2017 at the 70th European Meeting of the Econometric Society.

In recognition of the two best papers in applied economics presented by young researchers.

"Dynamics in Gun Ownership and Crime - Evidence from the Aftermath of Sandy Hook"
Presented by: David Schindler, Tilburg University, joint with Christoph Koenig, Bristol University


2016 Best Paper Prizes

Thursday, May 25, 2017

The Econometric Society congratulates the 2016 winners of the "Best Paper Prize" for its two journals Quantitative Economics and Theoretical Economics.  These awards highlight the best paper published in each of the journals in the areas of theoretical and empirical quantitative economics and economic theory. Winners are selected by the journals' editors and co-editors.

We are pleased to announce the following papers have been awarded the 2016 "Best Paper Prize":